Escola Estrela do Mar – Brasil
Discover the adventures, chaos and beauty Paul has landed himself in at the school

And then it Happened…

And then it happened…I left the school.

When we came back from the orphanage visit it was home time and there was a surprise waiting. The whole school was assembled and Brett (the other volunteer) and myself were called up the front. I had already been feeling a bit teary in the last two days, but this was the turning point, now the tears started rolling steadily. The whole school sang two songs to us – I tried to look as many in the eye as I could, but there were more than 150 kids and teachers.

It’s a weird feeling being in front of 150 kids and some adults and crying without any ability to stop. But at the same time it felt OK. I had been on a real journey with the kids and carefully put them into challenging and vulnerable situations (like solo singing and performances). Now it was my turn to be vulnerable.

When the songs finished they swarmed in, dozens of them. I was surrounded from all angles by kids saying goodbye, hugging me, handing over handfuls of little letters of love and affection, and threats of them hiding in my suitcase. It was very powerful.

foto D 1437

foto D 1441

5 Responses to “And then it Happened…”

  1. I’ve just looked at the photos again and my heart swelled with tenderness. How these kinds love you! I’m very proud of you.

  2. I understatement Estela do Mar Washington closed. What happened ? We sent some small guift but the parcel was returned. Can anybody help to fins what happened of the girls? How can we continue helping them ?
    Giulio De Angelis

  3. Sorry the computer garbled all the message
    I hope you understood. I want to keep helping and cannot reach any more the two girls who was under my help.
    Please let me know what I can do.
    Many thanks
    Giulio De Angelis

  4. Hi Paul,

    Your experience in this school sounds amazing… I am currently looking for a volunteer opportunity like this in Brazil and was wondering whether you could pass on the contact details of the school to see whether there is a possibility of helping out there. I am a Capoeira Angola fanatic and have experience teaching kids here in England as well as a lot of experience teaching English abroad. I currently work as a tutor for young people with severe autism, so I am used to challenging behaviour.

    I’d be really pleased to hear from you.

    All the best,

    Anastasia


Leave a comment